18/1/2020: Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while others claim that mental power decides the winner. I agree that both are important.

On one hand, from team sports such as football, basketball and swimming to dangerous individual sports such as climbing mountains or racing, the participants must have the basic level of physical strength in order to participate. Before matches, the athletes will be checked to be sure that they don’t have any serious injury because if they play while injured, they face dangers, can damage themselves, or even die. The Vietnamese runner Michael Le is a telling example. He wounded his right leg just two weeks before a meet, hid his pain, lied to the coaches, and ran the best that he could. Sadly, he fell down during the race and died right on the spot owing to complications from his injuries. Moreover, the athlete who is stronger, taller and bigger, has an advantage in many sports. For example, in soccer, the bigger the goalkeeper is, the more of the goal he can cover and the harder it will be for the ball to go into the net.

On the other hand, there is no doubt that emotions have a significant impact on the performance of the player. Through mental strength, athletes boost their energy, self-esteem and self-confidence. Consider Messi. Compared to other football players his small body is relatively small, yet he always outperforms almost all of them with elegant goal kicks and a feeling of invincibility. In contrast, depression exerts devastating effects on the athletes because it not only ruins their physical power but also distracts them from a winning mindset. For instance, the Vietnamese athlete Van Linh, who became a 5-time world swimming champion was beaten by an unknown. The only reason was that Van Linh had just broken up with his girlfriend right before the meet.

In view of what was mentioned above, obviously, physical and mental strength are both important for success in sport but somehow the physical power wins out because it is the factor that decides whether a player can join in a competition.