Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Thanks to the modernization and progression of our world these days, it is no longer a rarity for humans to get easy access to technology such as office work at home and online learning. This achievement has both benefits and drawbacks, but if weigh up its pros and cons, I strongly believe that the first outweighs the latter.

On the one hand, the development of such high technology may be the culprit of the distant attitude of some individuals. It is undeniable that working and studying from home means that hardly do we need to go out just because with a laptop or a smartphone, we can get through to our partners to have a meeting or an online lesson. Lacking interaction and face-to-face conversations certainly become an inevitable consequence. Also, this is the ultimate answer to the afore-mentioned issue of more and more callous people outside the society.

On the other hand, the advancement of technology is the clearest testament to the globalized development of the entire world. Not only does it provide workers and learners with a great deal of reliable and valuable information sources, but it is also of use when updating people with the latest trends and informative notions, especially in such nerve-racking social lockdown due to Covid-19 nowadays. What's more, this hi-tech revolution is deemed to be the major inspiration and motivation for novel inventions and a more creative ritual world to progress which are dominant catalysts for further success and triumph in the economic sectors in many countries. For example, in many developed nations, like the USA or France, with the help of modern technology, it is obvious that their productivity always remains high and stable without requiring too much labor force or time loss.

In conclusion, I hold a firm belief that modern technology is of paramount importance, playing an indispensable role in our daily life. Although it still causes humans certain problems, this is undoubtedly a positive development more than a negative one.