Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There is little room for doubt that cutting-egde technological inventions have altered our lives in many ways. Thanks to cheaper and more accessible technology in recent decades, people become used to working and studying at home for their convenience. I side with those who believe that this is positive development.

Without a shadow of a doubt, working from home is now believed to become a perfect alternative to traditional methods regardless any uncertainties of the world. The pandemic of COVID-19 serves as boom time for the undeniable popularity of working and studying online when people were incentivized to curb social interactions and face-to-face communication. Had it not been for various state-of-the-art tools and appliances, the world would have witnessed such a much severe economic and social volitality in a large scale that it might take decades, even a century to keep up with the current evolution of every aspect in our contemporary society.

Secondly, it is axiomatic that not only employees derive various benefits from working online, but employers are thought to gain many edges from this creative working way. In the past when the staff had to dedicate a handsome sum on money on petrol bills for private means of transport or monthly pass to commute to work, those capitalising on working at home have no longer wasted their money, as well as their time. On the other hand, the employers who spur their staff to adapt with online working do not have to pay monthly rentals for working space and various types of bills.

Although it is considered to be a beneficial development, working or studying online also pose several threats to users. For instance, due to setting aside much time utilizing computers and smartphones for studying during the time of social distancing last year, I suffered several acute symptoms with my eyes, which were detrimental to my health. Besides, due to other problems concerning the privacy, and confidentiality, working online may not completely take the place of working at the company where we can launch face-to-face interactions with the bosses and colleagues.

From the points enlisted above, people have gained numerous advantages of the latest technology, which have made almost positive changes in our life.