Cambridge Book 12 - Test 1- Writing Task 2

Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this government.

In our hectic world, many people think that the government should spend more budget on many aspects of society infrastructure, such as railways than roads in order to people have convenience lives. To a certain extent, I agree that spending money on railways should be done by governments. However, I also think that the roads have an important role in society.

To begin with, donating budget to the railways has the significant importance in every society. To be more specific, railways are a kind of public transport system which by improving quality of them help reduce traffic jam. Indeed, many people use their private cars because of shoddy public transport system, so they increase remarkably noise and air pollution, especially in the megacity. If the governments spend money on both improving and developing of the railways, not only will people encourage the use of trains but also it can help preserve the environment. Finally, goods transportation will become faster by the expansion of the railways instead of roads.

Furthermore, funding money on the roads is really important and should be applied by governments. In fact, safe roads have dramatic roles in citizen’s lives, and the governments try to decrease the number of people’s deaths due to accidents by improving roads. In addition, everyone should deserve a chance to use basic needs, especially in the distant areas where cannot travel by public transport systems, such as airplane and train. Actually, having access to wherever around the country is provided by spending money on developing roads.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I believe that donating money on both railways and roads should be done by governments.