Changes in structure and roles of family

It is argued that there is a change in organization and roles of family in recent years. This essay aims to explain more about the aspects of these changes and show my opinion that I totally believe these changes are beneficial to our society.

The changes that take place in structure as well as roles of family can be illustrated in two major perspectives. One of aspects is the shrinkage of family’s size in the modern world compared to the traditional family in previous time. Approximately 30 years ago, a standard family usually consists of at least three generations such as: grandparents, parents and children who often live under one roof, have meals and attend more activities together. However, recently, a normal family includes a single parent and their children who reside in a new house while the grandparents still inhabit in their own one. Another perspective of these changes is that the husband and wife hold equal position in family. In the past, the wife was always considered as a primary cook in the kitchen with a huge amount of housework.

However, thanks to the significant development of social role of women, the normal chore at home are also shared as responsibility of men when they come back their family at home.

In my opinion, I think that these changes are positive due to their undeniable benefits in our community. One of their good points is that the smaller-scaled families allow all members avoid conflicts rather than the big-sized ones. It is because the gap between various generations could lead to the huge different way of thinking, lifestyles and behaviors. Therefore, living in close generations in a family can help people to enhance the bonding, share their idea easily and reach the greater harmony. Another perfect advantage of these changes is that the equal role in family between husband and wife contribute considerably to reduction of gender discrimination and approach of success for women. If the women just concentrate on the housework and do not get the sharing from their men, they are likely to be more stressful and unfair which can cause the bad situations of that relationship. Therefore, the same duties in family’s issues would create a golden opportunity to strengthen their profound love.

In conclusion, the changes in structure and roles in family are about the size and equal responsibility while I believe these changes are really positive.