Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

It is often supposed that computers have become the most vital invention for the last hundred years. While many pessimists argue that using computers can have a bad influence on our society, I believe the advantages of computers outweigh the drawbacks and support the former viewpoint.

On the one hand, computers may have many downsides. Firstly, when they gradually become popular over the world, it can lead to an increase in cybercrime which may harm one's security and financial health. To explain, there are many cybercriminals who can get access to others' computers by infecting them with a virus. As a consequence, the personal information can be attacked by the hackers for reselling. Moreover, when the hackers have the ability to access others' computers, they can steal financial accounts, credit card and other payment card information so it may do harm to the others' financial health. Likewise, if one spends too much time sitting in front of the computer's screen, his eyes and muscles may suffer strain due to the lack of exercise.

On the other hand, despite the drawbacks, computers also bring humans many conveniences. Firstly, they are likely to make the way of communication easier. For instance, there are many applications on computers such as Messenger, Zalo where people can make a call or text a message with others all over the world. Moreover, during the Covid-19 pandemic, computers are the best way for the students and workers to learn and work. Hence, humans can avoid the spread of the disease in the community so it can disappear faster.

In conclusion it is undoubted that computers can do harm to people's health and finances, but I am of the opinion that they are the most important invention due to the efficiency they bring to humans.