Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the rapid development of technology, the importance of computers had been a topic of public interest. A school of thought holds that the most influential innovation in the last century is computers. While this thinking is valid to a certain extent, I believe that there are inventions that are more important than computers.

It is understandable why some people subscribe to the view that computers are the most important innovation during the last hundred years. Advocates may argue that the versatility of computers would prove their importance among a host of inventions. In other words, people could make use of computers for many purposes such as working, entertaining, and learning as there are a couple of applications and websites that only exist and work properly on computers. For instance, Microsoft Excel could be used for accounting-related works and Microsoft Edge helps people access to many websites on the Internet.

However, despite the aforementioned advantages of computers, I believe it would be unwise to ignore the unshaken importance of smartphones. Phone, which was originally designed just for calling and texting, has been innovated into a more convenient and versatile smartphone. Specifically, people could use smartphones for various things, ranging from quality photographing to taking notes. This is not to mention that smartphones are portable devices that you could use anywhere, which means that you can solve a couple of urgent problems irrespective of where you are at that time.

To conclude, while the potential benefits of using computers seem to make it the most essential part of humankind, I can affirm that there are more important inventions than computers such as smartphones.