Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Concerning the issue of scientific inventions over several recent centuries, it is widely believed that computers are the most necessary invention during this period. As far as I am concerned, I do partially agree with this point of view due to some reasons below.

First of all, it can be said with certainty that the development of computer may upgrade people's life conditions a lot. This is due to the fact that thanks to the computer and its technology, people can communicate with others all over the world, keep in touch with their friends, their families and especially, they can work on their computers at their own home instead of going to work everyday. Second of all, a subsequent factor could be because computer is an enormous source of knowledge. For example, with the rapid function in analyzing data of computer, students can find out more and more infomation for their further studies within a few minutes. Last but not least, computer, associated with robots also helps scientists carry out numerous exploitations in dangerous areas without doing harm to human.

In contrast, it must be admitted that except computer, there has been a variety of scientific inventions throughout many recent centuries. For instance, the invention of COVID-19 vaccine has been preventing this pandemic from being wide spread and killing a lot of people all over the world.

Taking everything into consideration, people have to weigh up in their thoughts to what extent this issue should be supported. However, the discussions are convincing enough to lead me to a conclusion that computers must be one of the most important inventions over the last few centuries