Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. However, it is no longer the main form of transport. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

There is a controversial idea heating a debate over the fact that bicycles are no longer the major means of transportation, despite its greener and more health-desirable. This essay is devoted to analyzing the underlying reasons with equivalent solutions, followed by parallel justifications.

Apparently, this phenomenon is primarily attributed to the bicycle's weakness in convenience compared to most modern transports. In particular, motor vehicles or metros are usually for trips within cities, while fast-speed trams or airplanes are more time-saving for long-distance journeys due to their speed. On the contrary, biking is more physically demanding and easy to suffer from extreme weathers such as torrential rain or heat waves whilst driving a car is obviously more comfortable for all ages, regardless of their physical conditions .

In addition, the effect of geographic features also decrease the practical use of cycling. In spite of its flexibility in some terrains, bicycles are not an optimal choice in rural areas. For instance, for transporting goods or passengers on long-distance trips, biking will not be suitable since it will make that become a bumpy trip and induce discomfort for the commuter. Even in the urban landscape, the continuous urbanization makes biking less used daily due to the growing distance between residential areas and the city centre or also the limited land for cycling lanes.

Regarding promoting cycling, applying cyclist-friendly facilities is the foremost step and it plays a paramount role to encourage people to make a change. In order to provide people a safety feeling while cycling through fast-moving vehicles, constructing paving cycle lanes on main roads or cycle paths in public parks is one of the most necessary. Another way to motivate cycling is the state’s coffers should be used to provide a wealth of bicycle-sharing systems on some main streets, organized local or international competitions.

In conclusion, although bicycles have some certain inconveniences, the benefits of it on people’s health and the environmental quality is undeniable. Therefore, in order to alter the current situations, it relies on both authority and each individual.