environmental pollution

It is beyond doubt that nowadays environmental pollution represents a major threat on Earth; however some individuals seem to show a remarkable ignorance of such facts. There are many justifications for such problem, which can lead to detrimental consequences, but I believe that we still have time to tackle this issue and reduce the negative human impact on this planet.

It is evident that environmental protection may contradict with human benefits. Obviously, some companies and organizations weigh importance on economic growth more. For instance, in order to save more financial budget, businesses may discharge waste without treatment into the environment. To be more specific, untreated industrial sewage was disposed to the water resources such as rivers and ocean, which can trigger digestive organ-associated ailments. In addition, although plastic package causes irrevocable damage to the environment, its cost is much lower; thus, it is reasonable for producers to choose this kind of packaging. Furthermore, because of their own comfort, people are not willing to lead an eco-friendly lifestyle. For example, despite increasing the greenhouse gas emission, travelling by car is safer and more pleasant.

There are various measures that governments and individuals could take to prevent, or at least mitigate, the problem. It is obvious that the government takes the main liability to protect the environment so if the public do not consider this as their responsibility, it is the government that has to tackle this. They could raise people’s awareness about the compromise between prosperity and environmental sustainability by running campaigns and educating the residents about the detrimental consequences of destroying the environment and improving their understanding about what to do to protect the environment. Moreover, the government can also use legal tools to stop people from polluting activities. For instance, they can impose green taxes on drivers, companies and other polluters, and they could invest the national budget in renewable energy production from solar, wind and water.

In conclusion, there are numerous reasons for people’s lack of attention to the environment protection, but by using feasible solutions, the problem will soon be addressed.