Free public transport

It is true that the issue related to traffic congestion becomes worse and worse. While I accept an idea that supplying free of charge mass transit can help governments to address this problem, I also believe that other methods should be combined to reach the high effectiveness.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why the free supply of public transport can bring undeniable benefits for the traffic situation. People are naturally interested in the cheap or free things. Therefore, if this way is applied in the real life, it will attract more commuters to travel by public transport which contributes significantly to reduce the personal means of transport. Moreover, most of the different commuter types do not the same moving plan and demand. Offering the free service in commuting by public transport enhances more opportunities for passengers to choose in a wide range of schedule which increases more times the time they use this kind of transport in a day.

On the other hand, in order to succeed greatly in dealing with traffic problem, the authority should also apply other ways at the same time. Raising the average price of fuel and cars should be considered as the first choice. This action can discourage car-owners to make use of them less or deter them from buying more cars. Secondly, governments should also have a clear strategy to improve overally the mass transit besides the free tickets such as: staff’s attitude, punctuality, saniation and safety. The combination of these good conditions would convince people competely to use the public transpot more and more.

In conclution, in order to solve the traffic related problems, I believe that governments not only offer the free service of public transport every hour but also associate other ways to reach the real effectiveness.