How should we ensure that the television is a positive influence in the life of children?

Generally speaking, television had had a great impact on our daily lives since its advent. It is undeniable the benefits of it in entertainment or education, however, various programs increasingly appear leading to the downgrade of the quality. Therefore, it is imperative for parents and governments to consider how to curb the negative effect of television on children lives. In this essay, I will suggest certain solutions to combat this problem.

First and foremost, it would be better for kids to be supervised while enjoying the TV shows. Some families are already adopting this measure. Of course, it is not easy for adults to watch their kids all the time but if parents take turns and sometimes ask for help from neighbours it would be possible. If children are supervised, this would immediately prevent the possibility of children being exposed to harmful programs since the supervisor could decide whether the shows are appropriate for kids or not. Of course, this method is only available in certain cases where people live in a friendly neighbourhood.

In addition, provided that all of the programs are safe for children, limiting the screen time would prevent kids become too attracted to television. If young children are exposed to TV for a long period, it would cause both negative physically and mentally effects. For example, sitting too close to televisions for many long hours could lead to visual impairment such as nearsightedness, while watching too much could make children addicted. A drawback of this solution is that it might not be effective if parents are away to work.

Finally, governments should ban inappropriate programs for children at specific hours. Unless all of the TV shows are means for kids, there is a high chance that children are exposed to violence or sexual programs. Although it is not possible to ban all of the adult programs, it is better to reduce the number of them at a time frame when most children watch TV.

In conclusion, parents should look after their child whenever TVs are on and governments should have certain regulations in order to protect children from negative influence.