Poor nutrition and obesity is a problem in many developed countries and some people believe that a tax on fast food would reduce the problem. Do you agree?

Certain developed nations, such as China or The USA, are beset by two common problems: unhealthy diet as well as overweight. It is believed that if the authorities impose taxes on the junk food industry, it would curb the issues. Personally, I am partly in an agreement with this notion because it is not economical and only when compounded with other approaches that it seem to be effective.

As the fast-food industry grows, obesity has also taken a toll on hospitals. Thus, if this type of food is curtailed with taxes, the number of patients and the strain on hospitals would likely be reduced. The money collect from it then would be reinvested in medication and health care, leading to an improvement in public health. In addition, it appears that fast food companies might feel disincentive, and thus shift their goals onto providing healthier options for customers. However, it would gravely affect the economy since the fast food industry, especially in the US, play an important role in the GDP value of the nation.

As junk food is restrained by the government, there should be certain incentives for sustainable agriculture or organic farms. Recent interest in organic food has led to a larger number of farmers’ markets again, opened so that people can have the access to fresher food and organic produce. Furthermore, education is also of great importance. Although the number of restaurants could diminish, the number of consumers is not likely to budge if the detrimental effect of fast food on health is not recognized by the people. For that reason, providing one or two free courses about diet in local areas would certainly raise citizen awareness about unbalancing diet.

In conclusion, whilst taxing junk food is a good measure, it could affect the income of the country. Therefore, a combination of solutions is required to combat these problems effectively.