Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Growing traffic and pollution now is more serious that demands the best way to solve. Hence, some given idea say increasing the cost of petrol is the best method, whereas there is no doubt that there are better solutions than it. In my opinion, I advocate the second idea that opposes of soaring the petrol’s cost.

On the one hand, I agree that the low price of petrol can activate the requirement to use more means of transportation. Public vehicles are used to transport many people on account of avoiding waste, so sometimes it can disgust passengers for its closeness. However, in case of the low petrol’s cost, users will choose intimate transports instead of common ones, from that, traffic jam and pollution problem occur. Thus increasing the price of petrol may help limit the quantities of vehicles used.

On the other hand, this solution is not a good way to solve the current problem. It will not cause only a domestic problem but also an international issue. Cuz increasing the price of petrol relates to global economic fluctuations and even results in instability on a large scale. For example, in the situation of COVID-19, many Asian countries are forced to soar the price of petrol forwarding to the world, follow it, many commodities also see a considerable rise like a domino effect. This growth has a negative impact on the consumption of residents and company activities. In addition, it also puts pressure on inflation. Thus, to tackle traffic jam and pollution problem, increasing the price of petrol is not a wise choice, instead of this, we can use the alternative materials which is more friendly environmentally and usable. For instance, London and New York use hybrid buses, Paris use buses running by natural gas. Furthermore, conducting more campaigns to encourage residents to use public transport is also necessary. A large number of private vehicles can discharge exhaust fumes ten times more than a bus which transports the same number of passengers.

In conclusion, increasing the price of petrol will inflict a big stumbling block on the global economy, whereas it would not bring an expected result if it was done. There are many better ways than that such as using fresh fuels to replace petrol or adopting public vehicles. In my opinion, to protect the environment and reduce traffic jams does not depend on the price of petrol, it depends on awareness of each other.