It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do your agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

In recent years, there has been a great debate about whether children should receive disciplines which can help them to distinguish the difference between good and bad behaviour. some people believe that our offsprings can correct their faults by various experiences as they are still growing up. However, on the other hand, the opponents argue that it is necessary to apply tough punishment toward children who have had a wrong decision in some cases. This essay will illustrate both viewpoints surrounding this issue and present some possible measures before coming to a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, many parents believe that most adolescents make big and small mistakes in their life and it can be cured by realising themselves in the future. Otherwise, they will take no notice of other's advice due to the period of sensitive. Their argument, however, sounds justifiable only when their mild and generous disciplines are carried out within a safe home environment. To illustrate, if youngsters who committed a crime such as stealing, robbing or violence should be taken intensive punishment to reflect themselves and prevent further mistakes. Since our children can expose to various incidents we, as adults, should educate them the boundary between right and wrong through proper methods.

In an attempt to tackle these problems, some measures can be put in place by adults include teachers and parents. First and foremost, teachers in the schools should remind pupils which are the wrong decisions and which can be followed in the result. This can be an effective way in which the aforementioned problems can be resolved because children are like a loose cannon from time to time. Alternatively, providing timeout can also be helpful, since it contributes to children to look back on their vices and parents to be relaxed a while.

In conclusion, it can be observed that there are two contradicting viewpoints about whether it is necessary to punish our children or not. To choose which side I am on, I believe that with proper disciplines as mentioned before, they can be walked on the right path, owing to the reasons discussed above.