It is important for students to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, schools use fewer punishments to deter and limit student misbehavior, but some argue that there should still be a way to teach students good manners. However, how to administer punishment remains a difficult issue because it must be truly reasonable in order to effectively deter without jeopardizing students' so-called human rights.

First and foremost, no individual or educator should use physical deterrence because it is a harsh way of making children understand their mistakes and can have an impact on their children. In spirit, in the long run, physically spanking children increases their fear, and as a result, they may develop mental disorders in the future. Furthermore, because they are afraid of being hit by their teachers, some children develop introverted personalities. For example, one of my classmates at school is mentally ill; he is unable to communicate with anyone other than himself because he was tortured with this punishment as nothing more than a child.

On the other hand, limiting deterrence by only using words to remind, on the other hand, will not be effective in the educational process, especially for stubborn students. This will significantly reduce the quality of teaching and students. And perhaps the simplest punishment to administer without having a significant physical or psychological impact on them would be to turn them over to their parents. Surely, every parent understands their child the best and knows how to discipline them without putting them under undue stress.

In conclusion, I completely agree that punishments should be used to discourage students from improving their character. However, depending on the severity, it is necessary to carefully consider the form of punishment and limit corporal punishment for them in order to avoid psychological consequences. Because punishments in a learning environment are not intended to harm others but rather to improve their behavior.