Living in a country where you have to speak in a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

When living in a country requiring you to communicate in a foreign language, one may face some serious problems. In my opinion, those are social problems, relating to communication and culture, and practical problems relevant to career prospects.

In terms of social problems, speaking a foreign language can cause difficulty in communication. If one does not have a variable source of vocabulary and abilities to communicate in a different language fluently, they are lacking chances to express their ideas in a throughout way. For example, people can easily purchase goods in a market using some simple statements and questions. However, in order to make a bargain or ask for further information, they need to update their vocabulary and take time to learn the new language. Moreover, another problem is related to expressing cultural identity. People from different cultures have differences in lifestyle. Therefore, one of the easiest and fastest ways to explain to others our habits is through speaking. This also requires much effort in exposing yourself to a foreign language.

When it comes to practical problems, job opportunity is a big concern. Some companies find it irritating to hire foreign laborers because of differences in culture and language. One of the reasons is that they want to avoid any argument that may happen due to miscommunication, especially for those whose foreign languages are not good enough. However, in some cases, foreign laborers are acceptable because of the lower payment fee.

In conclusion, living in a foreign language country may result in many social and practical problems. For those who are not good at communicating, updating their skills is the foremost way to adapt to the new culture.