Living in a country where you have to speak in a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

In the concurrent world, the advancement of transportation allows many people to immigrate to other countries. Therefore, speaking a foreign language becomes essential for non-native speakers. However, barriers to using the native language may result in social and practical problems for the immigrants.

Firstly, newcomers may face difficulty in communicating with local dwellers. If one doesn’t practice enough to have variable sources of vocabulary and the ability to use the language fluently, they lack chances of conveying their thoughts thoroughly. For example, immigrants may find it arduous to explain a good they are eager to buy if their language is not good enough. Therefore, it may lead to misunderstandings between local sellers and buyers. As a result, newcomers can receive a wrong good or worse, complaints from the shopkeepers.

Secondly, a foreign language can become a barrier to expanding social life. In a country where cultures are mixed together, a common language is a key point in expressing ideas as well as understanding one’s insights. If one doesn’t utilize their language well, the other person cannot understand completely what they are saying. In a long term, this may lead to lack of friendship. For instance, when joining a meeting, a non-native speaker may face loneliness if they fail to participate in any conversation. Some may argue that immigrants can speak in their own language, however, it is usually difficult for indigenous speakers to put the effort into understanding them. Therefore, speaking always plays an important role in socializing.

In conclusion, communicating in a foreign language is essential in expanding any close-knit or cooperative relationship. In order to live properly, non-native speakers need to enhance their vocabulary and practice speaking regularly to improve their communication skills.