In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Long life is such a blessing that God has given us and having an elderly in our society is like having a living cheated machine to consult any problems that we face in our lives. Although some people think that an aging population creates problems for governments. In this essay, I would like to discuss the merit and demerit of this issue.

On the positive side, elderly really like a living cheated machine to tackle our daily problems or maybe the hardest one in your life. We call it an elderly when people have reached more than 60 years of their life. And all 60 years of their life are full of experiences that can not be bought with money. For that reason we can tackle our problem by consulting with them about our problem. For instance we can consult with them when we have an argument with our spouse or how to raise a child correctly or maybe when choosing our career path. Having an elderly people in your society can really help you.

However, when we talk about the aging population like a double-edged sword there are disadvantages of this issue specially for governments. Aged populations have an issue about their physique, not like young people, elderly have a weaker body due to aging and cannot do some activities like young people. If it happens there is some task that can be done. It is not really good for a country that has a more aged population because the activity became low and as a result the number of productivity of the country decreased. Another thing is elderly cannot do their activity alone, they need help from another. For some countries elderly become responsible so they have to support them without having any income for them.

To sum up, I agree that there are advantages to having an elderly people in our society because they really help us with the experiences of their lives. Though there is a disadvantage of an aged population like they cannot give you anything except their life experiences for governments they have to spare they expanse for this population.