In many countries, schools have severe problems with student

behaviour. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions

can you suggest?

Many schools around the world are facing a variety of challenges. In a number of countries, students are causing their schools serious problems because of the way they behave. In this essay, I will outline why this is happening and suggest two possible ways to curb bad behaviour.

One of the main factors driving this problem is lack of discipline at school. Whereas in the past, schools and teachers maintained extremely strict rules regarding everything from hairstyles to handwriting neatness, now there are few boundaries and expectations. Indeed, just this month, a Sydney school teacher was physically attacked by three students, and not one of them was suspended, let alone expelled. Without explicit and firmly enforced rules, such incidents serve to further encourage other students to play up as there seems to be no consequences.

The other contributing factor related to parents. Those who are excessively lenient at home, allowing their children to set their own rules and essentially run wild, must also be held accountable when their child behaves badly at school. The problem is, even if the teachers report and punish the bad behaviour, many parents refuse to accept the matter, preferring instead to undermine the school’s authority, and further fuel their child’s delinquency.

Clearly, in order to manage the problem, it must be tackled both at school and at home. On an institutional level, school authorities need to get tough on bad behaviour. That means they need to set rules regarding uniforms, homework, classroom conduct, and other important areas. If the rules are broken, the teachers must have the power to discipline by, for instance, giving a detention or banning the student from school E2Language.com E2 IELTS Topic Toolkit 41 of 145 social events. On the home front, parents too need to set up and get tough. Without expectations and limitations around behaviour, they are setting their child up for a life of trouble.

In conclusion, both schools and parents are, to varying degrees, culpable when it comes to problems with students. With a concerted joint effort, however, steps can be taken to improve standards and, ultimately, help students succeed in society.