Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention at school. What are the reasons? What could be done to solve this problem?

In recent years, lack of student concentration at school has never failed to draw public attention and spark controversies. In this essay, the reasons behind this phenomenon will be discussed, along with appropriate solutions to it.

There are two elements that contribute to limited concentration of children. The first one is that children are repeatedly surrounded by massive available distractions of noise such as the sound of TV, or voices of people talking. In particular, most parents have disrespected their children’s learning environments. When their children are studying in a room, they are unconsciously annoying their children by turning on TV, or surfing social media with noise in verbal discussions. Studies have shown that children are naturally curious, that is why they can’t ignore these available distractions and have self-control to current activities. This leads to the fact that lack of children practicing concentration will cause attention difficulty in children.

Furthermore, another reason that should be taken into account is shortage of encouragement and recognition provided by teachers at school. This is exemplified by feelings of being neglected when children are studying in classes. This is because of crowded classes, teachers find it difficult to precisely observe and give compliments, or encouragement to their students. As a result, children will find it disregarded and lose their interest in lessons.

Two solutions of great practicality are suggested to alleviate the situation. To begin with, parents should have awareness of their children’s mental development. To be more specific, parents should create an effective studying environment without making noises. By doing this, children will have more opportunities to practice their concentration and improve their focus on lessons at school. Teachers’ observation in classes can also be conducted as a way to combat the problem. In particular, teachers should have a better observation in classes in order to notice students who need encouragement or attention to engage in lessons. The attention from teachers provides children recognition and being noticed so that it can help them make more effort into studying.

In conclusion, being repeatedly surrounded by massive available distractions of noise and shortage of encouragement and recognition in classes are the main reasons that account for the problem. Along with solutions mentioned above, there are a number of ways that could be done to counteract this problem.