More and more people want to own items, such as cars, clothing and other things, that are made by famous brands. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Many consumers are increasingly possessed in expensive goods produced by well-known brands. I will contend with how this viewpoint initiates to greater advantages which I will elaborate in the following paragraph.

On the one hand, the benefits of owning fancy goods is boosting government revenue through progressive tax. Based on USA tax policies, wealthier folks impose higher taxes about 10% on each high-end amenity and ones can also endow opportunities for charitable donations. Furthermore, people may also receive a sense of satisfaction for their persevering efforts. Not only earning as a source of investment, but to fit in with certain social group can also be perceived as a signal achievement that they are worthy of respect and inspiration. The Journal of Consumer Psychology presents that high-cost stuff shapes people to be more confident and powerful.

On the other hand, we should emphasize some drawbacks of this issue that luxury-loving individuals may inflict social inequality involving higher crime rate as happened in Kim Kardashian. After showing-off her jewellery on social media, she became a criminal target, robbery, in Paris. This means that the existence of social jealousy can reduce solidarity and social bonds among people. Moreover, through flaunting-wealth and materialism, individual known as oniomania is likely suffering from obsessive-compulsive disorder. Undoubtedly, strong pressure to conform in social standard affects the personages always feeling less and worrying about prosperity - as in Western society - which they feel uncontrollable need to shop.

In summary, despite some considerable demerits, I would refute that the merits of buying branded items are more remarkable consensus, including assisting national development with a great tax-conscious community and uplifting people’s self-esteem reflecting human emotion.