More and more people want to own items, such as cars, clothing and other things, that are made by famous brands. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Many consumers are increasingly possessed in expensive things ranging from automobiles, apparels and other stuffs produced by well-known brands. I will contend with how this viewpoint initiates to greater advantages which I will elaborate in the following paragraph.

On the one hand, the benefits of owning fancy good is boosting government revenue through progressive tax. Considering that, wealthier folks may impose higher taxes on each amenity which can generate charitable donations. In 2022, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation allocated over $1 billon in global development. Furthermore, purchasing expensive as a reward of one’s hard work provides a sense of satisfaction. Besides a source of investment, this can lead individuals raising social status as their self-signaling of achievement and aspiration. The Journal of Consumer Psychology presents that luxurious stuff shapes people to be more confident and powerful.

On the other hand, we should emphasize some drawbacks of this issue that luxury-loving may inflict higher crime rate due to social inequality. The economic differences weaken solidarity and social bonds, making wealthy persons criminal targets due to social jealousy. Reported by Free Press Journal, Kim Kardashian's social media displays of affluence provoked a Paris burglar to steal her diamonds. Moreover, through flaunting-wealth and materialism, sybarite is more likely suffering from obsessive-compulsive disorder. Regarding that, this influences people always feeling less and worrying about prosperity, as in Western society, which lead them to be materialistic and shopping addiction.

In summary, despite some considerable demerits, I would refute that the merits of buying branded items are more remarkable consensus, including greater state income and personal well-being.