New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time.

Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the rise of cutting-edge technology has had a huge effect on how children spend their leisure time. Personally, I believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

The new technologies bring to children more flexible and more efficient ways to entertain than do traditional activities. For instance, modern kids might prefer to play video games rather than play physical games like hide and seek or blind man’s bluff. It can be explained that video games permit children to roleplay in various scenarios, which respond to their imagination and also give them a sense of winning. Moreover, physical games require abundant stamina and some special equipments for each game while video games require only the computer - the normal device easily seen in modern families. Additionally, the advantage of video games is that the games do not require the player to gather in one particular place like team physical activities allow children bonding with each other easily and prevent the isolation of a young in some cases.

Modern devices also help children access knowledge and information easily with the rise of the internet. Nowadays, children can satisfy their curiosity without effort by surfing the internet instead of going to the library, searching for a suitable book or asking their teachers or professions. Consequently, with their enthusiasm for new information, children tend to spend their free time to grow their passion, enhance their special skills, become more potential and talented. Late technologies change the young's habit that they spend more time being domestic and avoid the risks from the foreign. The collection from MIT university pointed out that the number of kidnappings declined to 50% in the last decade thanks to the habits’ changing.

In conclusion, the appearance of new technologies bring to the young the advantages that outweigh the disadvantages such as its’ flexibility and convenience, the children can access to their passion easier with the internet and its’ emerging change the childrens’ habit which tackle the problem of kidnappings.