Nowadays many countries have very cosmopolitan cities with people from all over the world. How can the government ensure that all these people can live together harmoniously?

It is no doubt that globalization is happening at a breakneck pace and the world has become a smaller place in our minds. As the result, many cosmopolitan cities have arisen in different nations, from China to the USA. However, so many are the difference between cultures gathered in one place could evoke certain problems such as racism. Thus, governments should implement various effective measures, which will be discussed in this essay, to maintain family-friendly neighbourhoods in these cities.

First and foremost, education is of great importance in this scenario. Unless people understand and respect each other culture, it is unlikely that they could live peacefully in the same area. Therefore, opportunities to learn and experience other cultures should be supported by the authorities. Exchange students or study abroad scholarships, for example, are great ways to enhance the friendship between nations and offer students chances to be exposed to different cultures. However, this method only benefits the young, meanwhile, the elderly still holds a conservative view about different nationality people.

In addition, homogenous nationality neighbourhoods should not be allowed because it might create a sense of community where outsiders, people from different regions, are not feeling welcomed. Singapore, for instance, allocates families living in condominiums with various nationalities next-door households in order to erase the racism. A drawback of this solution is that the governing tasks would be demanding.

In conclusion, with great effort in educating people and creating mixed culture friendly neighbourhoods for cosmopolitan citizens, people might find it is not hard to live harmoniously.