The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is true that many older people believe in traditional values that often seem unsuitable for young people to apply those ideas to modern life. I agree that some conventional ideas are outdated, however, some of them are still useful today.

On the one hand, many of the ideas that elderly people have about life are becoming less relevant for younger people. To cite an example, a few decades ago, students were encouraged to graduate from a university or college and get a well-paid job in their field. Being an employee in a well-reputed company, meant financial freedom, earlier. Nevertheless, nowadays, there are more and more young people intentionally drop out of their university to build their own company and thrive. At the same time, a phenomenon that the young adults cannot decide who and when to marry which entirely determined by their parents. But perhaps the greatest disparity between the generations can be seen in their attitudes towards gender roles. Women were solely seen as housewives and men as breadwinners, which is not the case anymore, as females are excelling in every profession.

On the other hand, some traditional views and values are definitely applicable to the modern world. To illustrate it, the elders thought that hard-working, taking pride in one’s work, and doing your best are prominent for achieving success in every aspect of life, which are appropriate in modern times. Other characteristics that are perhaps seen as traditional are politeness and good manners. In our globalized world, young adults can expect to come into contact with people from a huge variety of backgrounds, and it is more important than ever to treat others with respect. Finally, I believe that young people would live a happier life if they had a more ‘old – fashioned’ sense of community and neighborliness.

To conclude, certain ancient outlooks, have become irrelevant in this new era. Despite that, many of them are still useful to man today, and if followed by the newer generations, it can lead them to huge achievements.