The only way to solve the increasing crime rate of young offenders is to teach parents better parenting skills. To what extent do you agree

It is suggested that juvenile delinquency, the rates of which are increasing rapidly, can only be curbed by training parents to be better at parenting. However, I believe that there are some other aspects too that must be considered while trying to reduce this problem.

As parents play an imperative role in shaping the personality of a child, their inefficiency in terms of parenting can often led to the child indulging in anti-social activities. since most of the couples are job-holders these days, they fail to spend enough time with their offsprings. Due to this, the children feel isolated and they do not acquire the fundamental social skills, morals and etiquettes, which should have been inculcated in them by their parents. In order to cope with the isolation, they turn towards social media, internet, television and sometimes, indulge in bad company and start abusing drugs. Apart from this, children, especially students, break under undue pressure from their parents regarding academic performance and to cope with the stress, start taking drugs or go rogue. Even if wards find about these unacceptable activities of their children, most of the times they try to punish them instead of making them understand politely. This further aggravates the problem, since the children often retaliate by offending even more. All this can be tackled if parents are taught parenting skills and how to deal with children.

However, parents can not be solely accused of mis-demaneaur of their children; there are others who affect the perception and the personality of the children. Other influencers can also help in making the child a good citizen.Firstly, teacher, with whom teenagers spend almost half of the day, should also emphasise on teaching moral values, ethics and discipline along with the curriculum. Secondly, since majority of the time of children is spent on T.V. and internet, and they get influenced by the activities they see on it, government should take care that obscene, vulgar and inappropriate material is not shown on broadcasting screens. Media can also play their role by spreading awareness about the consequences of committing a crime.

In conclusion, although i agree that children commit crimes often due to bad upbringing,

parents alone can not solve this issue and others must be responsible for this too.