In the past, lectures were the traditional method of teaching large numbers of students. Nowadays new

technology is increasingly being used to teach students. What the advantages and disadvantages of this

new approach?

Nowadays, with the uprising of the fourth industrial revolution, technology is happening in many aspects of social life including teaching students. This essay will discuss both benefits and drawbacks about using technical method.

One of the disadvantages of this new method is that it requires many technical devices such as computers, projectors, WI-FI routers as well as the Internet to operate the system. For instance, when students attend a lesson including presentation, they have to use a computer and a projector to perform a speaking in front of the class. Lacking even one of the two devices means they cannot start their presentation. Many universities in Vietnam have a serious shortage of technical devices so they cannot provide enough tools for teaching and learning. The other drawback is that students tend not to pay attention to the lesson when they use computers in the classroom. For example, a lot of students in my class often use the Internet to chat on Facebook, read newspapers and even play video games when their lecturer are giving a lesson. In reality, many students usually behave badly in this situation so using this modern method of teaching may be harmful to them.

On the other hand, using technology in teaching really brings a lot of benefits to students. They can save up their time when acquiring technical tools to their studying. For example, in the past when teachers have assigned the students an essay to complete, the learners have no choice instead of writing on a paper. However, in 21st century, they can do it on a computer using Microsoft Word. Typing on a computer is always faster than using the traditional way so they do not have to waste time on a single essay. Technology can make the way student learning more convenient. They do not have to go to school to hear the lesson. All they have to do is open a laptop, click on Skype and attend a lesson from home.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that modern method plays an important role in teaching learners.