In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area. What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community?

These days, people are living mostly in such large urban areas that they only know few people nearby. However, years ago, people used to inhabit smaller areas which has both pros and cons that will be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, people can benefit a lot from living in a small community. Firstly, people can make friends and know each other easily and quickly. They can visit each other's house on a regular basis and have a close talk which facilitates their relationships. For example, people in some villages often gather in someone's house at the weekend where they cook and have a small meal which creates a united and cozy atmosphere and builds up inside themselves a sense of attachment. Secondly, people living nearby can help and share with each other in many cases. For example, they can help take care of the children in the village when their parents are at work so that they do not need to be worried. Thirdly, children growing up in a small community can learn social skills from an early age. They often play with and take care of each other, thus becoming more responsible. Some older children may also help do the housework and teach the kids as well.

On the other hand, there are some worrisome problems regarding these areas may be short of many vital services such as education system and healthcare. To get these services, villages often have to go a very long distance to the centre areas which may cause inconvenience and danger to themselves. Secondly, there are not many job opportunities for people in the village that lead to high rate of unemployment, entailing a shortage of money to meet their basic needs. For example, in some rural areas, people have to live on a contaminated source of water and children are even starving for food which can cause several serious disease.

To sum up, I can say in affirmative that living in narrow areas can be both beneficial and harmful. There should be some actions to be taken to help develop and equip these areas with better facilities so that their inhabitants can enjoy more secured life.