In the past people wore their traditional clothes and followed their culture. These days most people wear similar clothes and therefore look very similar to one another. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There is a big controversy surrounding clothes in the past and at the present. Although there are some merits of this problem, I would argue that there are far more demerits and in this essay I will give some examples to support my opinion.

The main perks of the trend towards similar clothes would make people easier to select. This means that people could spend less time on choosing any clothes to wear to go to any party. It is appropriate in the current trend when people usually have a propensity to live in a minimalism and fundamental style. For example, Japanese living’s style is ubiquitous around the world. Even this style is applied by more and more teenagers and young people due to the fact that they want to simplify their life. In addition, wearing similar clothes reduces the jealousy in many people’s minds. This can lead to a better and friendlier life in human.

Despite some positives I mentioned above, I would argue that similar clothes are a negative development for various reasons. Firstly, individuals need to keep and maintain their cultures by wearing traditional clothes. By this way, they not only upgrade their culture but also prove their love to their nations or cultures. Second, it is straightforward to distinguish between any culture when they gather together. Taking Vietnam as an example, there are 54 ethnic groups. They reunite in a meeting, it will be easier to find and call the exact name of the group if they wear their traditional clothes.

In conclusion, while there are a plethora of beneficial effects on this problem, I believe that it is better to keep strictly, maintain and pass the culture on to the next generation.