In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Many young people decide to study beyond their national borders instead of studying in their countries. In my opinion, there are both benefits and drawbacks when students study in foreign lands.

On the one hand, studying in other countries can bring several advantages for students. Firstly, qualifications gained abroad can open the door to better job opportunities. Students have a chance to study in top-tier institutions where can offer better courses with a lot of experts. As a result, they will have a competitive profile in comparison with others in order to seek a good job after graduating from a prestigious university. Secondly, because students living far away from their family need to solve various problems without supporting from their parents, they can become more independent.

On the other hand, in spite of having several major advantages, there still have some disadvantages when student live beyond their national borders. Firstly of all, living alone in unfamiliar culture can cause lots of negative emotions such as homesickness. That can become one of the reasons which make students fall behind their studies and drop out of college. Moreover, if international students living in developing countries want to study in developed countries, their family will suffer a financial pressure. In fact, the standard of living in developed countries is higher than developing countries and fee international students have to pay to the universities is pretty high, compared to local students, hence the cost is really a big problem which students have to face in foreign countries.

In conclusion, studying abroad have not only positive effects but also harmful impacts on students, thus young people should be careful to think before choosing in study abroad.