The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.

Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

In the last decade, western countries have seen a climb in the number of children who are overweight. Furthermore, it has risen by 20 per cent. This essay will describe the possible effects of the problem and then discuss the main reasons of this epidemic.

Being an overweight child, may have several negative effects on their life. Firstly, they may be bullied despite the fact that they appear different from the other youngsters. Secondly, they are more likely to develop health problems like high blood pressure, diabetes, cardiac trouble, insulin resistance and risk of suffering from cardiovascular. Although, being obese may force the heart to work harder, this could result an apoplexy. So, it might have impacts on their social life and the health. However, obese child have considerably higher risk of becoming an obese adult.

It is perspicuous that overweight children have various negative implications on their live. There are a lot of reasons which made children overweight. To begin with, in most families now both parents work and due to their busy schedules, they rarely had handmade food at home or cook. As a result, many young people grown up in love with junk food. Although, many children nowadays rely on fast food or pre-prepared meals which contain too much salt, fats and soybeans.

To conclude, in reality, overweight children are a serious public health problem in Western societies. However, if parents, teachers and the government make a concerted effort this problem can be tackled effectively also it can be finally commented that consuming unhealthy diets like Fast food and pre-prepared meals are detrimental to the body's system. So, we should make it a duty to be conscious with what the growing child eats and homemade food from natural resources will be of great help.