Poor nutrition and obesity is a problem in many developed countries and some people believe that a tax on fast food would reduce the problem. Do you agree?

With the mass development of life conditions and living standard, people in many wealthy countries are increasingly suffering from poor nutrition and obesity which demand for a practical solution. While many claim that tax enhancement would mitigate the problems, I’m strongly against this idea. In these following paragraphs, I will give clear evidence and support my statements.

To begin with, the rising tax does not only ease this situation but it also raises the indignation of the customers when their favors are being imposed with the new tax. Because of the fact that junk food has been the dominant goods worldwide, any authorities who intend to impose new taxes on it would bring counterproductive effects such as detest campaigns or some strong criticism,... Apparently, people are continuing to purchase fast food given the fact that they are all aware of its consequences in the long run. Therefore, this alarming phenomenon cannot be tackled in just a matter of days or weeks.

The first and foremost solution is to try to alter people’s self consciousness about the harmful effects of fast food which requires the joint hand of both government, citizens and even some food organizations,.. Clearly, the propaganda campaign via social networks, newspapers, TV programs,.. will help upgrade the belief of people on fast food and gradually rule out the dominance of junk food. Another approach to put into consideration is to cooperate with the fast food production to try new healthy products instead of burgers or chickens,.. Hence, this process will last yearly so if the locals offer enough efforts they will definitely alter this reality.

To conclude, although imposing a new tax is a great option to deal with poor nutrition and obesity in developed countries to some extent, but it would make no sense if the customers did not change their habits. From my own perspective, I strongly detest this approach and offer some proper solutions.