Prevention is better than cure ,researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in prevention measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays it is argued that investing in preventing measures would be better than financially supporting expensive researches and diseases treatments. This essay will explain the reasons behind this statement and give answers about my opinion on the topic.

First of all, prevention is a fundamental part of healthcare, that can be costly but in the long run, it always results in fewer expenses like illnesses treatments and hospital admissions. For example, when investing in vaccines' campaigns, those who get vaccinated will help those who are not vaccinated by stopping the transmission of different potentially deathly diseases. Nevertheless, non-vaccinated people can help other too: if they are taught the right preventing measures like the correct hand washing techniques, they will be aware of what to do and what not to do, helping in the reduction of spreading illnesses.

Although people might think that using preventing measures we do not need to conduct researches, those are in fact fundamental too. Diseases need to be studied in order to understand what can be done to fight them. prevention, however, is not necessarily cheaper than research: it is necessary to invest in the right number of different campaigns and in teaching courses for healthcare providers to instruct the population on important preventing measures. When we talk about diseases like HIV, it is not only important to know how to treat the infection, but it is fundamental that people know how to not contaminate others.

In conclusion, I totally agree with those who say that is it important to invest in prevention measures because they cut the costs of the treatments. But I also believe that support and financial aid should also be put into the research because it is important too that we know everything about preventable diseases.