Shops should not be allowed to sell any food or drinks that have been scientifically proven to be bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, restricting buying-selling products consisting of scientifically dangerous ingredients has to be imposed to reduce the unhealthy lifestyle among societies. Partially, I consent to the same point of view for some reasons which I will elaborate in the following paragraph.

On the one hand, perhaps, to legally supervise the consumer products threatening people's life induces the disruption of economic cycle both vendor (micro) and national revenue (macro). To illustrate, in Indonesia, instant noodles sold by numerous convenience stores as its core business profoundly contribute higher local income and tax revenue. Furthermore, according to the affordability, this probably increases the pricing level of conventional products chosen by modern people. Substitution products converted to primary needs would inflict the higher living standard. Consequently, certain societies (lowest socioeconomic position) seem difficult to afford their daily necessities.

On the flip side, in my point of view, the more products will be restricted, the healthier the society will be. This occurs since machine-processed foods and beverages may require higher food grade considering the nutritious consumption as a main priority in its production. In addition, if government system does not impose this policy, more and more groups of society will consume unhealthy products time after time without considering health-related issues (obesity and cardiovascular diseases). Subsequently, the growing number of mortality rate brings a decrease on people’s life expectancy.

To sum up, it seems to me that, imposing strict policy of dangerous consumer products might bring several benefits; health-thriving population and well aware of related diseases. This is as long as the products remain the major domestic and state income.