Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

I personally believe that this trend has both benefits and drawbacks.

There are two primary disadvantages of using smartphones for long hours in children. The first negative is spending too much time on cell phones has an adverse impact on children’s health. Kids who devote time to playing games or watching videos on digital phones without taking any regular exercise may suffer from various health problems such as sleep quality reduced, eye strain, or obesity. Another drawback is the more time children spend on digital screens, the less time they spend taking part in social activities with their friends or talking with their families. This is the reason why it may lead to social isolation and lacking communication skills which seriously affects their lives in the future.

Despite the downsides mentioned above, using smartphones brings a wide range of benefits. Firstly, smartphones help children enrich their novel knowledge. A child, for example, can learn some terms about smartphones in the technology field and thus are more likely to raise up their passion for the information technology industry. Secondly, children have more opportunities to make friends and get help from all over the world by using social networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter, and so on without any restrictions. My friend who I knew from Facebook and now is living in America is a case in point. When she came to Vietnam, I became her tour guide introducing her to Vietnam’s heritage and foods.

In conclusion, I would argue that the appearance of smartphone development brings both beneficial and detrimental effects.