Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Most of the young generation nowadays spend much of their time on smartphones. This essay will consider the causes of this state of affairs and discuss whether they are advantageous or disadvantaged to children in today’s society.

From my perspective, there are two major reasons leading to this situation. First, technological devices have increased in availability and affordability. In the past, only some families whose incomes are well-paid would have some digital equipment such as cell phones, and televisions, … With the advance of technology, however, smartphones now are cheap and affordable. Every person can have at least one belonging to them. Another major cause is the convenience factors that mobile phones bring to us. Thanks to the invention of data storage systems, young generations can easily access great sources of information without difficulty, while before that people had to search for it in books, newspapers, or magazines. Communication is more immediate than ever with social media, and a wide range of video games and other entertainment make children find joy without going outside.

In my opinion, this change has had more negative than positive impacts. The frequent use of cell phones makes some young people get addicted to it and is harmful to their health such as headaches, and eye strain. This is because entertaining videos or games make our brain release dopamine which makes our pleasure, and satisfaction. Phones keep updating these things to make another dopamine hit. Furthermore, the young may get threatened and cyberbullied due to the leaking of their personal identity by most social networks, contributing to the threat to their families. On the other hand, smartphones can provide children with access to a wealth of information and educational resources, which help them learn about different topics, and stay up to date on current events.

In conclusion, I would argue that excessive smartphone use in children is generally negative, as this has greater downsides on the young generation’s health and private information. In my opinion, society should attempt to address some practical solutions for this situation.