In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

People in many nations consider having a house on your own instead of leasing one as absolutely vital. Reasons for this phenomenon vary greatly and it should be regarded as an unfavorable idea.

The ever-increasing interests in real estate possession stem from social norms and the potential long-term values of having a house. In numerous cultural backgrounds, particularly in Asian societies, owning a home has long been symbolized as a fundamental element for career prosperity since people are often told that only when a person has purchased a house can he starts embarking on his business. Therefore, a majority of people are under an intangible pressure from family and the community to justify their economic achievements by buying their own houses. Moreover, it cannot be denied that accommodation is a promising field of investment because the population is growing exponentially and demands for housing are quickly rising accordingly. As a result, it might be a fairly auspicious venture to purchase a house and put it on sale for larger profit later on.

Although the notion of owning an apartment may sound tempting, it is highly likely that this trend will do more harm than good to most people. Regarding social aspects, individuals are prone to undesired agony resulting from the society’s prejudice against people living in rental houses rather than owning one. As the society associates home ownership with a status of affluence, those who are not able to afford their own homes are inclined to the trauma of insecurities. Given the economic facets, rocketing enthusiasms in housing speculation pose the threat of inflation in this field as house prices will be considerably exaggerated. Following this, people who take out a bank loan for housing investment will suffer from a capital loss when they have to pay an exorbitant amount far exceeding the real value of the real estate property.

In conclusion, the perception that home ownership is more pivotal than renting one has its social and economic attributes which are also the main causes to make this situation a harmful tendency.