Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business, and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

We live in an age of information which is the means to succeed these days and there is no better way to learn it than sharing with the people of the world. However, the question always remains of what, how much and in what ways we should exchange this information. This essay focuses on the diverse attitudes towards information sharing and a reasoned conclusion with my personal opinion.

Initially, I think many people believe it is important to share information if we want to go forward in the fields of education, science, business and so on. Scientists must share their latest discoveries with other researchers around the world otherwise their own invention, discovery, research or survey will fail to achieve acceptability. Moreover, if ideas, plans or new learning are not shared by teachers and students with the rest of the world, the purpose of education also fails and distance learning over the internet can be included in this respect as the best example. As far as business goes, I personally know some successful business people who often say that they cannot think of a world without new entrepreneurs and expert businessmen confining themselves and not sharing their ideas.

Conversely, lots of people do not like the idea of sharing information and ideas for several reasons. One of them is the risk of losing a successful business which may threaten the future of a company or organization. One of my close friend's father lost his well-positioned business when he shared his success-secret with the media. Furthermore, sharing of information may also lead to chaotic political instability in some countries which may threaten the sovereignty of nations around the world. Additionally, if there is no regulation on information sharing, crimes like identity theft and blackmail will occur regularly. Hacking online servers and Facebook or Instagram accounts can be quoted in this context as valid examples.

In fine, I believe while there are cogent arguments for the free and fair flow of information in science and academic fields, there should be limits in what information we share publicly, especially, issues like personal pictures, videos, certain business ideas and sensitive national documents and so on. Therefore, I partly support both views.