Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people state that the major environmental issue in this modern era is the loss of particular species of fauna and flora, while others suggest that there are problems that are much more prominent. While I agree that the loss of species is important, there are more issues that should be named and tackled.

To begin with, owing to industrialization, plants and animals are on the verge of extinction. Since the first factory was founded, our lives have become more advanced, this resulted in human yearnings search for lands, which has had a devastating effect on natural habitats. Animals lose their homes, while plants are being either cut down or burnt for industrial purposes. According to a report after the Amazon rainforest fire, approximately 2.5 billion trees were burnt. While on the other side of the sphere, endangered animals such as rhinos or tigers are suffering from hunger, as their natural environment has been converted into manufacturing lands.

On the other hand, extinction is not the only issue that we are currently facing. One problem that has affected our lives deadly is air pollution. This could also be explained by industrialization. Factory constantly pumping out exhaust fumes, traffic congestions in downtowns, or even everyday tasks now could make the air more contaminated. Air pollution has disastrous effects to humans’ health, namely are serious breathing issues, lung cancer or respiratory diseases. In addition, climate change also has an adverse impact on our lives. Extreme weather phenomena have become more intense and frequent, thus houses are destroyed and human lives become more vulnerable.

In conclusion, although the decrease in species is important, in my opinion, other issues should also be taken in consideration.