Some people say that modern technology has made shopping today easier, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, there are those who believe that the emergence of advanced technology has been facilitating shopping while many of them are against this concept. The following essay will be looking at two sides of the problem as well as proposing my personal viewpoint.

For a variety of reasons, the arrival of technological advancement has brought people with global access to a plethora category of items. For example, an e-commerce shopping platform such as Amazon, which is a global commercial online system featuring accessibility in many types of goods’ information and have them delivered to customers’ front door, it has removed the geographical barrier as it is unnecessary for buyers to physically travel to the stores. Therefore, shopping via this platform tends to be less time-consuming which grants people with more availability to prioritize other more important tasks at their workplaces and their homes. Another upside of modern technology in shopping is that it provides customers with more choices to make comparison. Unlike in the past, especially in Vietnamese street markets, it used to be considered impolite and even rude when comparing the price and the quality of the same kind of products in different stalls. Hence, with the available price on the screen displayed by sellers, it is much feasible to make consideration in terms of items’ costs and relevant details including usage instruction as well as warranty. As a result, people are likely to have a more comfortable shopping experience to make negotiation as avoiding being judged by the vendors.

On the other hand, the technological advancement can still have some troubles for shoppers. First of all, buyers may purchase unqualified products due to misinformation introduced by sellers. To elaborate, in order to achieve personal profitable benefits without caring the safety and quality of goods, some sellers, especially retailers, they may intentionally give the products’ descriptions which are recognized by trustworthy authorities on e-commerce platforms despite the fact that those items could not be certified and inspected properly. Consequently, if a business keeps having this unethical behavior, the customer loyalty is more likely to decrease gradually as they no longer lay their trust on its services leading them to look for other stores to spend money on which can have a considerable reduction in the business’s revenue. Another downside of modern technology in make-and-buy industry is that it would reduce the interaction between buyers and sellers. For instance, old Vietnamese housewives usually have a habit to shop for foods and groceries in street markets where they can have a short verbal conversation with the retailers about the price, quality and origins of foods which make sellers find it viable to approach their customers in a positive way and have them to return for the next shopping, whereas shopping online only provides customers’ feedbacks and inquiries under encoded numerical values with no attached emotions. The aftermath of such situation is unidentified true feelings and attitudes of customers toward the services and products of the stores resulting in businesses unsuccessfully and ineffectively understand the values of buyers.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that the development in technology nowadays has made it easy for shopping as people can have access to international-origin goods along with having opportunities to bargain. However, it still causes some certain obstacles for buyers since they can get wrong information of products as well as being less interactive with the sellers.