Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided as to what students should study at their university. Many argue that students should study whatever they like; others, however, hold that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future. In this essay, I will discuss both these views and show why I am in favor of the former.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some believe that college students are forced to study subjects that will benefit them in the future. It will be useful for those who cannot self-direct their life as their parents will guide them to a better life. Furthermore, students can contribute to the development of living standards as well as world innovation as they can be a part of creating a science or technology breakthrough. However, forcing students to study subjects that they do not love may create a reverse impact as students have a tendency to reduce their motivation while learning. This will result directly in their educational status with the increase in their mark.

On the other hand, I am convinced that students can study everything they want as they will be motivated by studying their favorite subject as they tend to work harder and have the perseverance to achieve their goal. Moreover, allowing the student to choose their favorite subject can boost their independence ability from their parents as they are able to control and manage their lives and direction for the future plan. This will be beneficial for their growth prospect as their maturity level is improved.

In conclusion, there are good reasons to believe that university students should be directed to study useful subjects which benefit them in the future; however, it is my view that choosing their favorite subjects can help student boost their determination to achieve their goal