Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

According to some people, students at universities should pursue what they are most passionate about. Others, however, believe that only those subjects should be allowed, which are relevant to the future, especially those dealing with science and technology. From my perspective, I believe that they should have the freedom to pick subjects within a prescribed syllabus, not whatever they like.

On the one hand, the freedom of selecting subjects in college would make the education more effective and would not force students to study subjects that they have no interest in at all. Although, the majority of people think that technology related subjects are crucial, students would not learn that much if they are forced to learn programming while their interest is in another field. Therefore, students should be free to choose the subjects they like, especially for university students. For instance, many art departments in the UK offer students to pick technology related subjects such as web programming to help students exert their skill in website design.

However, an absolute freedom to pick subjects for the university students is not a good idea as well. This will often lead to situations when students will not have sufficient knowledge on some aspects that are crucial for their career. Because some students would misuse this facility and just pick their favorite subjects every semester. It will also lead to a haphazard situation, the school is difficult to assign classes because everyone wants to study what they are interested in.

In conclusion, a certain freedom while picking subjects in university is very helpful for students' general growth and knowledge expansion. However, an absolute freedom would make the outcome worse.