Some people think the government should spend money on faster means of public transport. However, others think money should be spent on other priorities (eg cost, environment). Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In today’s world, utilizing public transport is a trend, and developing public transport system may be a must for many countries. Some people argue that the government should only focus on increasing the speed of public transport while others think money should be spent on other categories. From my point of view, I believe that faster means of public transport is necessary but the pivotal role of other priorities (eg cost, environment) is undeniable.

On the one hand, I concur that there are several benefits when operating public transport at high speed. Firstly, it is true that this increase will certainly bring a reduction in traveling time and thus, avoid wasting the time of passengers and improve the capacity of the whole system. Secondly, I believe that this is the most effective way of attracting more and more people in this kind of transport. For example, people tend to choose personal vehicles because of their speed and convenience but now means of public transport will be taken into consideration if the system can fulfill their time-related requirements.

On the other hand, I am more convinced that other priorities such as effectiveness, environmental protection,… are also needed to be noticed. Firstly, it is obvious that people are encouraged to use public transport mainly due to environmental problems. Reducing the number of cars, motorbikes in cities is now the most widely used method among many Western countries. Therefore, it will be meaningless if those public systems harm the environment. Secondly, to become an effective system, its cost may be relatively low so that it can be an option for people from different classes. Taking Vietnam as a prime example, even though the public transport system here is not popularly developed, its cost is certainly affordable especially for students who study in big cities such as Hanoi like me.

In conclusion, although utilizing faster means of transport can bring positive effects, I truly believe that other priorities such as cost, environment,… are also needed to be invested by authorities for long term benefits.