Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

There are mixed opinions in regards to whether streaming students according to their academic ability into separate schools is utilisable to the education system. Some assert that it is more beneficial to students’ development if students attend in the mixed ability schools. However, I believe that it would be more effective and efficient in terms of both teaching and learning when streamings of students are implemented.

It is evident that students with various abilities studying together are more likely to achieve positive outcomes in all-round ability development. Mixed abilities classes offer students opportunities to learn from each other, thus, to develop the abilities that were absent from them previously. For example, a student with an excellent academic ability can learn how to dance or paint from peers who are less academic but rather artistic. In this sense, mixed classes encourage students to develop their multi-dimensional abilities rather than single academic ability.

Despite the argument above, I believe streaming students generates more benefits to teachers and students. As to teachers, it is more convenient to discover suitable teaching methodologies to accommodate a group of students with similar academic abilities. Compared with mixed ability class, in which teachers need to acknowledge the ability differences among each student, streaming students makes it much simpler to teachers. As to students, this system enables them to learn in an effective way, as specific teaching methods, timeframe and teaching materials distributed to different schools in order to accommodate more specific learning. In this way, the narrower the spread, the more convenient the teaching can be and the more effective the learning can be.

To conclude, mixed ability classes encourage students developing all-round abilities; however, it is the streaming students that facilitate the more specific teaching and learning, which is proved to be more effective and efficient.