Technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the development of information technology, children can always spend their free time surfing the internet and doing other activities on mobile devices. While there are several advantages and also disadvantages in this situation, I do believe that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits.

To begin with, technology can help children have more chances to reach the real world around them and enhance their creativity. Most technological devices nowadays can access all the materials on the internet, which means that children can take advantage of using the internet as an additional way to find unknown knowledge. For instance, Asian kids can now learn about Western cultures and history without travelling for hours on planes to go to those nations by searching articles on the internet on their smart devices. In addition, technology can provide children with opportunities to develop their creativity by using technology to create images, videos and other multimedia projects. TikTok is a good example of this statement. Teenagers can enhance their creativity by making and sharing videos on this platform

However, parents should also consider the drawbacks and the unwanted consequences that technology can bring to children. First, the overuse of technology can lead to addiction among children. In the long run, children will ignore their society and lose connection to the real world. Second, using too much technology will increase the time on the screen of kids. Consequently, it will cause negative effects on children's mental health, including obesity and poor sleep. Third, not all the content on the internet is positive enough for kids to reach. Kids can by chance access some inappropriate websites, which contain content over 18, violence, and hate speech. Such content can affect children's thinking and behaviours, as many of them tend to imitate what they see and hear in daily life.

In conclusion, although there are benefits that technologies bring to children’s lives, it also consists of disadvantages that need to be taken considerably. In some situations, the drawbacks outweigh the benefits.