Today people are living longer, so they should work longer. Do you agree or disagree?

In this modern world, medicine and technology are increasingly developing to enable people to live longer despite pollution as well as other threats. Many people believe that a person's lifetime should be proportional to their working time, this means that the longer they live, the longer they should work. However, this opinion is against my belief.

Today, although people's health and longevity have improved due to the development of medicine and technology; however, they still should not work longer even if they live longer than before for the two main reasons. First, with the rapid change of society, it is necessary to acquire new knowledge, new thinking and a new approach. However, for long-term employees, most of them believe in their ability to work and feel difficult to accept new perspectives. If their minds are still lucid, but when their eyes are no longer clear, limbs are more or less slow, then getting them to access new science and technology is really worrying, using the computer is a typical example. Science and medicine only help people live longer, not help older people avoid natural ageing. Second, unemployment of young people is alarming. While there are manifold dynamic young people and talented graduates who want to find a job that is suitable for their abilities, but the positions they hope to be offered have already been taken by long-term employees who should resign those positions if their work performance is no longer efficient.

Advocates of this argument that people who live longer should work longer because this will help reduce pension fund imbalance. In fact, the pension fund management mechanism is currently inadequate in revenue and expenditure, so the risk of rupture or imbalance is inevitable. In addition, those who back this issue believe that long-term employees have more experience than the young. Notwithstanding, a person's experience does not show how long they work, but how their work is effective. The experience if not used appropriately will bring the opposite effect.

For the foregoing discussions, it is clear that the opinion about people should work longer if their life is longer may bring disadvantages instead of merits.