You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

It is believed by few, that advertisements push them to purchase the products that are not really needed, and on the other hand, it is viewed as the entry point of knowledge about the products that can enhance our daily routine. In my opinion, I agree that advertisements are required to get first-hand information about any goods that we purchase, and necessity and research drive the purchasing decision rather than mere visuals.

In order to reach millions of customers, all the companies market their products through print media such as newspapers, daily magazines and posters, and visual media such as television and movies. Without this kind of communication, it will be extremely difficult for the general public to know about the newly launched product. Once they come to know about it, they get a chance to research further on it and understand whether it suits their needs and budget. Let it be a simple cooking item that we daily consume, such as salt and sugar, or be a more complex item such as a home security system, It can be purchased only when it is known to the public that it is available in the market.

The purchasing decision is not simply driven by visuals where celebrities from Film and Sports industries vouch for some product. It is completely decided by various factors such as the necessity of the product, the brand value of the company, competitive price, and last but not least, the durability of the product. When all these factors create a positive vision, it influences the person to buy the product.

In conclusion, advertisement is an important and foremost factor in influencing the purchasing decision of the people. However, it is not the only factor.