The best way for parents to teach their children about responsibility is to have the children care for an animal.

The society has an increasing demand for responsible citizens.Unfortunately, not everyone is capable of carrying responsibilities. The cultivation of such ability involves a complicated range of elements, including patience, meticulous care and whole-hearted devotions. As a result, it is extremely necessary to teach children to be responsible before they grow up. Rising pets could be an effective way to achieve such a goal.

First of all, taking good care of others is a primary step to become responsible individual. Just like a baby who lives under the endless care from its mother, an animal also relies largely on the affectionate care from its owner. If a child has been given the chance to play a role of a little mother, she would have a further comprehension about what love and care really mean. She may be determined to render the greatest to her pet and try to make it healthier and stronger. In fact, such a psychological feedback is helpful to children’s mental growth and prepares them for greater responsibilities.

Secondly, during the course of pet-raising, children would realize difficulty in maintaining the responsibility. They would learn to cherish the hard work of their parents and become more considerate. Outwardly, taking care of a small animal appears to be a simple task. Only after assuming the duty could a child fully sense the difficulty in doing it well. Each step needs to be followed meticulously. He has to commit a series of complicated duties, including learning about habitual nature of the pet, preparing fro the suitable amount of food to feed it in time, doing cleaning and even playing with it. These may remind them of what parents would do while taking care of their child. It is likely for the little pet owner to thoroughly understand the hardships his parents have undergone to bring him up. Accordingly, he will try to respect and cherish the hard work of their parents more than before. This should be the sign of his progress toward maturity.

Moreover, raising pets allow children to experience the happiness of being devoted to others. No matter how many trouble they have encountered to feed their pets, these efforts shall never be made vainly. The process of care-taking fills them with enormous happiness. Evidently, the wholehearted devotion granted to animals makes children appreciate the real essences of happiness. They may also realize that being devoted to others could make one’s life both meaningful and joyful.

In belief, taking care of animal not only presents to children the nature of responsibility, but also lets them experience the difficulty and happiness of carrying responsibilities. Indeed, it is a long way to go before a person becomes a fully responsible individual. Parents should encourage their children to undertake such meaningful tasks at an early age.