It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

It would, surely, be rather critical to take any one side strongly. It is essential to keep old friends. On the other hand, it is equally important that one makes new friends and expand his circle. If making new friends means discarding old friends, than I prefer to keep old friends to making new friends. But by old friend its does not mean that you grew up together or you met on your nursery classes, it means someone you connect with.

First, old friends with whom you spends a long time together surely knows you better than one you meet today at the tea shop. It becomes so much easier for you to share problems because you do not hesitate to share with the friend you have spent a lot of time together. He will understand your choices, respect your decisions and will help having harmonious relationship without disturbance.

Furthermore, friendship is all about trust. One cannot trust a new friend with a blind eye. May be making new friends is like eating a piece of cake but if not taken care it can damage you seriously. With old friends, it is easier that you already know their natures and habits. There is a very little chances that you may engage to bad company unknowingly. With new friends this is very uncertain as you need time to understand him. There is a good chance that you may get engaged to wrong habits due to peer pressure. There are a lot of evidences that wrong peer pressure have destroyed many youths life.

On the other hand, some proponent of the theory that one should make new friends may say that its is better to make new friends than to keep old friends. One cannot fully disregard it. There may arise certain cases that one need to make new friends such as; forming organization, business etc. But old friends are equally important. As said earlier the understanding and the bonding between old friends is very strong compared to new friends, so it may be necessary to make new friends but not by discarding old friends.

Finally, i would like to conclude by adding famous saying "A friend in need is a friend indeed" which means that a friend that can help you in your hard times is a true friend. So, one should keep such friends closer. For the sake of creating new friends, it is imprudent to forget old friends.